The Office of Undergraduate Education

Undergraduate Advisor of the Year Award

Nominations for the Undergraduate Advisor of the Year close on March 13, 2023.
Click here to nominate an advisor.


To recognize an undergraduate academic advisor who demonstrates outstanding performance and dedication in advising undergraduate students.


Nominee must be a full-time undergraduate academic advisor within either one of the seven schools or the Office of Undergraduate Education. Must be employed as a professional academic advisor for at least two years at UT Dallas (start date prior to January 1, 2021).

Guidelines for Submitting a Nomination

  • The deadline for submitting nominations is March 10, 2023. Nominations must be submitted electronically. Click here to nominate an advisor.
  • Faculty, staff and students are eligible to nominate an Undergraduate Academic Advisor; self-nominations are not accepted.
  • Only individual nominations will be accepted; no group nominations.
  • Individuals who received an advising award within the last three years are not eligible.
  • Current Selection Committee Award members are not eligible to submit a nomination.
  • Any questions can be directed to John Jackson via email at


  • Displays a welcoming, caring and helpful demeanor
  • Demonstrates knowledge of institutional policies and procedures
  • Demonstrates knowledge of degree plan(s) and specific school/department policies
  • Connects students to campus resources
  • Engages in student advocacy
  • Assists students in setting academic goals in connection with future career objectives; monitors student progress
  • Helps students identify and plan their course of study

Nominees for 2022-2022

Kelley Henderson - AHT
Courtney Milavec - AHT
Corey Foster (Pierce) - BBS
Anna Hamilton - BBS
Crystal Favors- ECS
Shae Mann- ECS
Nasreen Hasan- ECS
Stacey Moran- ECS
Malinda Hicks - EPPS
Whitney Sharman - EPPS
Sidney Higar - IS
Laura Wey - IS
Melissa Bresnahan - JSOM
Meagan Julian - JSOM
Chien Paden - JSOM
Linda Elgin - NSM
Jennifer Meedel - NSM
Kameron Svoboda - NSM
Rick Treter - NSM
Allie Valenzuela - NSM
Hailey King - NSM
Eric Welgehausen - Undeclared
Shirley Anderson - Health Professions
Jeanna Kirk - Health Professions
Thuy Luong - Health Professions
Tonya Carroll - SOAR
Jamar Blackmon - SOAR
Artiste McClellan - SOAR
Galina Pegues - SOAR

Previous Recipients

2008: Eric Welgehausen - OUE
2009: Leah Nall - BBS
2010: Valerie Brunell - NSM
2011: Carol Johnson - BBS
2012: Megan Gray - A&H
2013: Arturo Elizondo - ECS
2014: Kali Cagnolatti - NSM
2015: Kristi Taylor: ATEC
2016: Linda Elgin - NSM
2017: Chien Paden: JSOM
2018: Shirley Wilson - ECS
2019: Pamela Kitchens - ATEC
2020: Kevin Jackson - BBS
2021: Sydney Taylor - A&H
2022: Catherine Boynton - BBS